Medieval Monday: Barbute

Welcome to this week’s Medieval Monday. If you’re new, every Monday I post up a new article on something medieval related. At the moment, I’m tackling specific terms found in Elven Soul that I believe younger readers may not recognize. If you ever have any suggestions for a future MM, please feel free to drop into the comments section.

Barbute with Y-shaped opening. Sexy, isn't it?

A barbute was a visorless war helmet, and generally had either a T-shaped or Y-shaped opening in front for the eyes and mouth. What distinguishes a barbute from a normal helmet is 1) it didn’t have a visor, and 2)the helmet extends all the way down to cover both sides of the face. Because so much of the face and neck were protected by this design, wearing a gorget was optional.

Here’s an excerpt from Elven Soul where the term barbute is mentioned:

Colette peered about the throne room. It had grown silent, and the few imperial guards within the throne room stood tensed. From within their Y-shaped barbutes, their eyes darted from Jean to the Emperor, and Colette could see their hands visibly tighten about the hilts of their swords. There was an uneasy air about them as many shifted their weight in wary apprehension.

Do you enjoy reading about and studying the medieval ages? Tell me! I love chatting, so don’t leave me alone here. Also, if you found this post useful or entertaining, give it a RT, please. Thanks!

7 Comments

  1. I’m glad I’ve subscribed to your blog. Now I’ll be receiving informative bits and pieces for that wonderful and mysterious past. And reading you is a pleasure !

    1. Thanks for stopping in, storiesbywilliams!

      I agree. Maximilian armor is some sleek full plate. Why shouldn’t it be? It was specifically designed to not only be functional, but to also be fashionable! Emperor Maximilian I certainly knew how to place an order.

      I’ll definitely slot the Maximilian armor for next Medieval Monday.

  2. I am not a huge fan of the genre but history has always fascinated me. Obscure items or obsolete words should be of interest for every writer. Great post.

    1. Thanks for visiting, Berlow!

      I agree. Even if you don’t particularly like to read a genre of writing that tends to make use of a time period, history is still a very important thing to study and learn from.

      Storiesbywilliams: Absolutely. I’m less familiar with ancient Arabic and Chinese culture, so studying that for a future Medieval Monday post will prove informative for me too!

Comments are closed.