Medieval Monday: Longsword

If you’re new to these here parts, every Monday I like to do what I call Medieval Monday. I highlight a specific term from the medieval ages, and expand on the definition of that term and describe its appearance. If there is something you would like to see featured in a Medieval Monday, hop into the comments and say so.

This week’s Medieval Monday is brought to you by the letter “L”. The longsword is what we’ll be taking a closer look at.

The longsword is probably one of the most recognizable medieval items there is. We’ve all seen it, and we can recognize it immediately. Its use ranged for a respectable amount of time, appearing some time in the 13th century and lasting well into the 17th century. The longsword is distinguished by its shape. It has a cruciform-shaped hilt, a grip long enough for two-handed use, and a straight blade that is double-edged.

Here’s a nifty fact for you: longswords were the finest examples of advanced technology for the time period. Is that blowing your mind how a sword could be considered advanced? Do you know how complicated it is to make a sword? Did you know that it is considered a rare and exceptional thing for swordsmiths to still be able to craft swords the original way? If you’re really interested in the subject, and if you have Netflix, I suggest you go and watch Reclaiming the Blade. It’s an excellent documentary covering this entire subject.

Now, you know what a longsword looks like, but can you identify its parts? Here’s a wonderful diagram to help you out.

Do you enjoy reading about and studying the medieval ages? Tell me! I love chatting, so don’t leave me alone here. Also, if you found this post useful or entertaining, give it a RT, please. Thanks!

4 Comments

  1. Really enjoyed this post! Will be useful for training scenes in my WIP. Now I can say I know I teensy bit about swords. It also reminds me that for all the bad about Netflix (see: division of streaming/DVD & lousy new movie selection in streaming) it has an awesome documentary selection. I might reinstall it just to watch Reclaiming the Blade as suggested.

    1. Thanks for dropping by!

      And yeah, Netflix has sort of gone downhill as far as online streaming goes and what not. Their documentary selection remains as strong as ever. I definitely recommend Reclaiming the Blade. You’ll learn a ton of stuff about the sword, including common misconceptions.

Comments are closed.