Medieval Monday: Murder Holes

If you’re new to these here parts, every Monday I like to do what I call Medieval Monday. I highlight a specific term from the medieval ages, and expand on the definition of that term and describe its appearance. If there is something you would like to see featured in a Medieval Monday, hop into the comments and say so.

Helms will not protect you from having your head bashed in by large rocks.

This week’s Medieval Monday is brought to you by the letter “M”. The murder hole is what we’ll be taking a closer look at.

Ever seen those little holes in the ceilings of a gateway, or even on the sides of curtain walls? Those are murder holes. They have an unpleasant name for a very good reason.

Medieval warfare was a nasty business, and murder holes were just another form of a fortification’s defense. By use a murder hole, defenders could pour things such as rocks, or more famously boiling oil or tar, down onto their attackers. Could you imagine having scalding oil poured over the top of your head? I don’t know about you, but the point at which my skin starts to melt off my body is the point I lose all interest in invading a castle.

Do you enjoy reading about and studying the medieval ages? Tell me! I love chatting, so don’t leave me alone here. Also, if you found this post useful or entertaining, give it a RT, please. Thanks!

Also, since my articles run on the Penslinging Word Herders every Monday, go check out my post on plagiarism!

3 Comments

    1. Yup. I got a MM planned for tomorrow. Just took a few postings off to help me tackle a tough spot in my novel and less time to write lately.

      So you’ll see one soon!

Comments are closed.