Medieval Monday: Trebuchet

If you’re new to these here parts, every Monday I like to do what I call Medieval Monday. I highlight a specific term from the medieval ages, and expand on the definition of that term and describe its appearance. If there is something you would like to see featured in a Medieval Monday, hop into the comments and say so.

The trebuchet is what we’ll be taking a closer look at this week.

Fear us, for we enjoy hurling boulders at our enemies.

I’m sure if you’ve ever watched any high fantasy movie, chances are you’ve seen a trebuchet. They are one of the most popular siege engines to portray in cinema. And why not? They’re like giant slings of ass-kicking doom!

Trebuchets are basically a type of catapult which make use of a counterweight to hurl a projectile over great distances. Projectiles were placed into a sling, then a trigger (the counterweight) was released. This would cause the sling and beam (the sling would be attached to the beam) to swing around. The projectile would then hurl from the pouch and wreak damage upon its intended target.

Do you enjoy reading about and studying the medieval ages? Tell me! I love chatting, so don’t leave me alone here. Also, if you found this post useful or entertaining, give it a retweet on twitter, please. Thanks!

6 Comments

  1. It has always been a semi-secret desire of mine to actually build one. (Rubs hands together) Yessss. 😀

  2. One of the most impressive passages I’ve read using a trebuchet was from “The Saints of the Sword” by John Marco. I thought they were impressive before, but the way he describes one in action was pretty impressive. Nice post, BTW! =D

    1. Haha. Glad to at least know I’m not posting these just for my own eyes.

      Thanks for stopping by. I always appreciate you popping in each week to comment!

Comments are closed.