Thursday’s Children: Fiddler On the Green

thurschilbadgejpgThis is my first ever Thursday’s Children post, so bear with me. Rhiann Wynn-Nolet told me about it on Twitter and, since I’ve been looking for something to post about on Thursdays, I said I’d join in. Basically, Thursday’s Children is all about what inspires you to write.

Many things inspire me to write. So much so that for a bit, I was left flailing as to what I should talk about for my first post. But then I realized I’m a huge music freak who listens to all types of songs, so maybe I should just share that. For today, we’re going to take a look at a song by Demons & Wizards:

This song is so incredibly sad and beautiful to me. I listen to it when I’m writing tragic scenes. The story behind the song is that the writer of the lyrics (Hansi) was out walking his dog and saw a little boy get hit and killed by a car. Then, a week later, same spot, a little girl gets hit and killed by a car. So the entire concept of the song is that the Fiddler (in Germany, the Fiddler is similar to the Grim Reaper) accidentally took the little boy to soon. Since the little girl was the boy’s soul mate, the Fiddler asks the girl if she would like to join the little boy in the afterlife so they can both live together in happiness for all eternity.

While I don’t believe in the afterlife or the Grim Reaper, I still find this to be a moving song. All the more so when it’s based off the actual deaths of two small children. When I first read about the story behind the song and listened to the music again, I got all weepy. I have two small kids myself and while I like to consider myself fairly desensitized to the horrible things that happen in the world, little kids getting killed is a soft spot for me. Every time I read or watch the news about a small kid getting hurt leaves me with a lump in my throat.

Anyway! Getting sidetracked here… That’s Fiddler On the Green. It’s beautiful and haunting and tragic. I hope you like it as much as I do.

<!– start LinkyTools script –>

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

<!– end LinkyTools script –>

14 Comments

  1. I feel the same way about kids and death. Would you believe I was actually RELIEVED when Leonardo DiCaprio slipped off that chunk of ice? But, God, that scene with the mom reading her two kids to sleep, KNOWING what was about to happen. Cried freaking buckets. Thanks for joining TC and sharing your music. And making me get all verklempt again 😉

  2. That was amazing–in a powerful strong way, especially after knowing the story behind the song.

    I’m always looking for new music to listen to and this one is a new favorite. Thank you for joining and posting it.

  3. I have the same response to kids and death and the part where the mom is reading to her kids gets me every. single. time. I’m so glad you decided to join us. And thank you for sharing your music. There are a lot of Thursday’s Children who are inspired by music – and for many of us, the sadder, the better. 🙂

  4. Oh my gosh. VERY moving and tragic. I agree with everyone else on the Titanic thing too. It’s funny how certain tragedies stay with us and inspire so much of our writing. I’m so glad you joined and shared this!

  5. Thanks so much for joining us. Rhi and I are excited to have you on Thursday’s Children! Music is a vital part of my writing process. Right now my faves for dramatic scenes are Imagine Dragons and Florence + the Machine. Kristina x

Comments are closed.