Thursday’s Children: Finding inspiration in anime.

thurschilbadgejpg

I have been insanely busy. The kind of busy where you’re too exhausted to do much of anything else but sleep. Part of this is because I’ve been having to work far more double shifts than I’m accustomed to. The other half is because I have new responsibilities with Month9Books and Swoon Romance that I’m still adjusting into my schedule; which, by the way, I’m absolutely loving and learning so much from!

When you’re tired, bone-deep tired, inspiration seems as likely as spotting a unicorn. I’ve been struggling with finding the willpower and creativity to write new words into a new project. Its been pretty daunting. I can’t even recount how many nights have passed with me blankly staring at an open Word document and eventually giving up to go crawl into bed.

Listening to music hasn’t been doing the trick for me of late. One of the nights where I’d spent an hour staring at a blank document only to surrender and slink over to the couch to watch Hulu Plus, I found a new source of inspiration. I chanced upon an anime that really sparked my interest.

roseofversaillesboxIt’s called The Rose of Versailles. If you’re into anime, especially one set during the French Revolution, I strongly recommend this series. It has a tragic ending that made me bawl like a baby. Maybe that’s why I loved it so much. I can’t even remember the last time a book or show really elicited a real emotional response from me.

Not only that, but The Rose of Versailles is all about empowering women. The main character is named Oscar François de Jarjayes, a girl raised as a man to become her father’s successor as head of the Palace Guards. Oscar is openly admired by other women in the series, both because she is so “dashing and beautiful” and due to her freedoms as a “man”.

After I finished watching this show, I immediately felt reinvigorated to start on my two WIPs once more. It even gave me an idea for a new third WIP. While this may sound odd to some to have been inspired by an anime, it’s really no different than feeling creative after reading an awesome book or watching an incredible movie.

So, are any other Thursday’s Children participants fans of anime? Do you have any recommendations to make?

Click here to view other participants in this week’s Thursday’s Children!

12 Comments

  1. I don’t watch a lot of anime, but I should. I’m a big cartoon fan. The simplicity of them and the sheer fun inspires me. I’m glad you found a way to get inspired, even when exhausted!

  2. I’ve watched a bit of anime in the past, but nothing like you’ve described. I guess one of my main inspirations in writing comes from the books I read. I also enjoy watching film adaptations of books I’ve read. They can be inspiring too.

    1. Thanks for dropping in! I’ve been inspired by some fantastic books and films as well. Gone With the Wind always leaves me wanting to write a southern belle type character.

  3. Love, love, love anime! I made my decision to move to Japan while watching anime. And when it comes to the story-telling, it’s not always the happily ever after ending, but it will really stick with you. One of my all-time favourite shows is Inuyasha! I also grew up idolizing Sailor Moon. No, it didn’t matter that she was a fictional character. She kicked-butt and looked good in pigtails and a bodysuit. What’s not to love?

    1. I love InuYasha! I used to have the biggest crush on Sesshoumaru many years ago. The voice actor they got to dub the show in English for Sesshoumaru was just… wow. His voice dripped sexy.

      Sailor Moon is also amazing. Several episodes from that series still stick out in my head. I can’t help but feel that my love for anime helped shape me as both a person and a writer. It helped me discover the types of characters I love to read about and write.

  4. This sounds totally amazing–I am totally going to look this up. Out here in Hong Kong I enjoy watching Korean and Chinese soap operas to unwind and it also provides some valuable cultural insights that often inspire new scenes or characters for me. Thanks for joining us on Thursday’s Children!

  5. Anime is awesome! But I definitely don’t get enough of it these days. When I was a kid, Sailor Moon and Gundam Wing were my favourites.

    From what you described, though, it seems like there’re a lot of great series for adults, too!

    Thanks for sharing.

    1. Ha! I used to watch Gundan Wing all the time! Back when it came on Cartoon Network in the afternoon every day. I loved that show. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.