#WriteMotivation Check-in 3

I’m proud to report I’ve done a bit better this week. It’s far enough along into the month, however, that I can say with some certainty I won’t be meeting a few of my goals. There’s always next month for new goals that are slightly less lofty though!

Here’s how things are shaping up so far:

✖ Complete 15k on new YA high fantasy WIP. I’ve wrote about 1k this week. That’s still not much. Generally, when I’m really into the full swing of things and able to concentrate, I can manage about 3-5k a day. So, I’m still not anywhere near where I want to be, but life is busy and chaotic right now, so yeah.

✖ Complete 15k on new YA horror WIP. Nope. I still haven’t even done a story outline for this. We might as well scratch this goal off completely.

✖ Read one craft book on writing a week. Last check-in I was bitching that I hadn’t even finished beta reading. Well, I finally did! I marked up about half of the manuscript, as well as wrote a four-page editorial letter to the person. I’ve now started to re-read a bit of Scene & Structure by Jack Bickham. I’m probably about twenty pages in.

✖ Blog twice a week. So far, this is the only goal I’m really rocking out. Go me. /sarcasm

I don’t feel as down or frustrated about my goals this time around. I’m not happy about it, but it is what it is. I’m making progress, even if it is at a snail’s pace.

I hope everyone has a great week and good luck with your own #WriteMotivation goals! (Also, be sure to check back on the blog later this week for a super awesome, glitter-filled, epic announcement!)

One Comment

  1. Scene & Structure is probably my favorite book on the writing craft. And hey, any step forward is progress. 🙂 That you’re still making progress while life is busy and chaotic is a good sign!

Comments are closed.