Agent Interview: Eric Ruben

Today I’m thrilled to host an interview with literary agent, Eric Ruben!

Ruben is beloved by his clients and is a regular host of #askagent sessions on Twitter. If you’d like to read up more about him, head on over to his website. You can also follow him on Twitter at @RubenAgency.

eric ruben

✖ Now that you’re open to unsolicited queries once more, let’s introduce the masses to your awesome. Can you tell us a bit about yourself? What’s the quirkiest thing about you?

You’re very kind.

I’m an attorney with over twenty-five years of experience. I have author clients in numerous genres. I started in publishing in the 90s when I suggested that my high school friend, Suzanne Brockmann write about Navy SEALs as heroes and created the genre of romantic military suspense. As a result, she became a NY Times best-selling author. I’m an actor/performer/stand-up comic and writer who’s appeared in films, commercials, and Off-Broadway theatre. I’ve been the model in several national ad campaigns. I’ve also been a producer of film and theatre. My experience gives me a unique perspective that benefits all my show business clients. You can follow me on Twitter at @RubenAgency.

The quirkiest thing about me is my strange sense of humor. Or maybe the fact that I sing show tunes to Ruby, my kitty and office mate. Or the fact that I hate to give simple questions and can talk for hours at a time.

✖ Was there a defining moment leading to your wanting to be a literary agent?

After I was business manager for Suz Brockmann for several years, I became friendly with lots of people in the business. Then authors started approaching me to work for them. I consulted a good friend who told me I should be an agent. I did some research and the rest is history.

✖ What writer blunder do you see the most often that makes you want to face-palm?

There’s a few. The worst is sending me work that’s not ready to be seen by a professional. It often needs to be edited. More than once. Then there’s sloppiness like misspelling and bad grammar.  Then there’s writing yet another mediocre version of something that’s been done to death. And there are many more.

✖ What’s on your submissions wish list? 

I am currently most interested in YA, all Romance (except inspirational), Erotica, LGBT, and Mystery. And even though people don’t like to hear it, I’m looking for a great story well told.

✖ And lastly, a theoretical question for you. You’re headed to a duel: sword or pistol, and why? Also, what did you do to make things lead to a duel? 

Pistols. I have a lot of experience with firearms. No injuries. I’m very likely to hurt myself with something sharp. As an attorney and agent I’m constantly getting paper cuts.

As for what I did? Either I said something I shouldn’t say as a result of drinking (which I rarely do) OR I entered into a jealous spouse/lover situation that I will leave to your readers’ imaginations.

 photo chuck_norris_approves_zps7417ca01.gif

And that’s a wrap! Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to do an interview with me, Ruben. To everyone else, submit those queries!

