Agent Interview: Jordy Albert

Hello, marvels! Today I’m thrilled to host an interview with literary agent Jordy Albert!
bio bannerjaJordy Albert is a Literary Agent and co-founder of The Booker Albert Literary Agency. She holds a B.A. in English from Pennsylvania State University, and a M.A. from Millersville University of Pennsylvania. She enjoys studying languages (French/Japanese), spends time teaching herself how to knit, is a HUGE fan of Doctor Who, and loves dogs.

She is looking for stories that capture her attention and keep her turning the page. She is looking for a strong voice, and stories that have the ability to surprise her. She loves intelligent characters with a great sense of humor. She would love to see fresh, well-developed plots featuring travel, competitions/tournaments, or time travel.

dividerWebsite * Blog * Twitter * Facebook

interview banner✖ Thank you for agreeing to this interview, Jordy. Can you tell us a bit about yourself? What’s the quirkiest thing about you?

Thanks so much for having me. Well, besides reading, I’m really interested in archaeology and I love animals! Something quirky? I LOVE silent films.

✖ Was there a defining moment leading to your wanting to be a literary agent?

I would say just my love for reading. I’ve always loved reading, and I was particularly interested in the behind-the-scenes of how a book got published, so it just sort of evolved from there.

✖ What writer blunder do you see the most often that makes you want to face-palm?

I find that sometimes a writer will get caught up in description/imagery, and forget that the plot and characters are just as important. A story can have the best description and imagery, but if the plot isn’t developed well enough or a reader doesn’t care about the character, then s/he would be less likely to continue reading.

✖ What’s on your submissions wish list? What are you sick of seeing in the inbox? 

I’m always looking YA contemporary, YA sci-fi or New Adult, which is quickly gaining a huge readership.

I’ve received a number of submissions that deal with suicide. Suicide is such a heavy topic, and it’s a subject that I would tend to shy away from.

✖ And lastly, a theoretical question for you. You’re headed to a duel: sword or pistol, and why? Also, what did you do to make things lead to a duel? 

Sword. Because I’ve always fancied I’d make a great pirate.

dividerAgain, Jordy, thank you for agreeing to this interview! To all you marvels, there’s also an added bonus!
 photo Data-Star-Trek-Fist-Pump_zpsf2969a10.gif

Jordy has agreed to donate a critique of the 1st 10 pages of a manuscript to one lucky person! Click HERE to be taken to the rafflecopter to earn yourself some entries! You have till midnight on Sunday, at which point the raffle will close. The winner will be announced Monday. Thanks for stopping by and good luck to all raffle entrants!

21 Comments

  1. I love agent interviews, it’s so nice to get to know them on a more personal level. 🙂
    I’d also love to see more New Adult, it’s one of my favorite categories!

  2. It’s always helpful to hear what an agent is like behind the agency website. Thanks for this interview. It was fun to read and get to know Agent Jordy Albert better. I especially like to know things that turn off agents (and readers). Thanks for the critique opportunity!

  3. That’s a really great point about not getting caught up in description. Our job as authors is to keep the ball rolling.

  4. Wow! She loves dogs, Dr. Who, time travel submissions and she fancies herself a pirate! If I ever achieved a level of writing which would require an agent, this would be the agent to have.

    1. Hey Rissa!

      If you click on the rafflecopter link, it should take you to the widget and display the winner. I also announced the winner on Twitter back on Monday.

      I hope you stop by in the future! There are other awesome giveaways planned!

Comments are closed.